Key people

The Nuclear AMRC is owned by the University of Sheffield, but overseen by our industrial partner companies on a consortium basis. Operations are headed by the core management team. Strategy and research areas are determined with the guidance of the Programme Board of member companies.


Mike Tynan, chief executive officer
Mike Tynan joined the Nuclear AMRC as CEO in 2013, with responsibility for overall leadership and strategy. Mike was previously chief executive of Westinghouse UK, and has held senior positions at a number of UK nuclear sites. He is also visiting professor in nuclear manufacturing at the University of Sheffield, a member of the UK government’s Nuclear Industry Council and Nuclear Innovation Research Advisory Board, and a founder board member of the National Skills Academy Nuclear. 

Andrew Storer, managing director
Andrew Storer is responsible for day-to-day leadership of the Nuclear AMRC. He joined in 2015 from Rolls-Royce, where he was programme director of the civil nuclear business.

Steve Lawler, operations director
Steve Lawler joined the Nuclear AMRC in August 2016 from Rolls-Royce, where he held management positions in manufacturing R&D and in-service reactor fleet support. He is responsible for managing the safe delivery of programmes across the Nuclear AMRC’s research factory.

Colin Walters, programme director
Colin Walters joined the Nuclear AMRC in October 2016 after leading facility, business and membership development for TWI over 17 years. He previously spent 18 years with BNFL. Colin is responsible for managing the Nuclear AMRC’s resources to deliver the maximum benefit to the UK supply chain.

Jay Shaw, business development director
Jay Shaw joined the Nuclear AMRC’s machining group in 2010, becoming head of machining before moving to business development. He is now responsible for identifying and creating opportunities for UK manufacturers to win work in nuclear, and for growing the Nuclear AMRC business.


Programme board

David Orr, Rolls-Royce (chair)
Robert Davies
, Areva UK
David Mills
, Westinghouse UK
Stephen Burgess
, Rolls-Royce
Graham Honeyman
, Sheffield Forgemasters
Andrew Dunsmore
, Tata Steel Europe
Jennifer Simmonds, Dassault Systèmes
Mark Corrigan, Delcam
Franz-Xaver Bernhard, Hermle
Mick Walters, Hexagon Metrology
John Titmus, ITW Welding Group
Richard Kingsbury, Geo Kingsbury Machine Tools
Ron Gorham, NDA
Roger Ehn, Quintus
Steve Weston, Sandvik Coromant
Lee Scott, Starrag Group
Martin Burnham, IFA (Tier Two representative)
Chris Squires
, EDF Energy

Paul Drabwell, BEIS
Robert Muirhead, BEIS
Graham Heys, ONR